Wilson Cup

The Wilson Cup was first played for in 1903. The cup was presented for competition between teams of 4 from clubs in Orkney, Shetland and Caithness.


Initially only clubs from Caithness and Orkney competed but in the 70's a team from Shetland started to compete. In 2005 Whalsay and Lybster Golf Clubs were admitted bringing the number of clubs competing to 8.


The teams are Wick, Thurso, Reay, Lybster, Stromness, Kirkwall, Dale and Whalsay.


Teams of 4 play in a foresome format over 2 days. There are 2 groups of 4 playing a round robin format and the winners of both groups play in the final.


As well as being a sporting event it is also a social event and the post match dinner on the Sunday night along with the Captain's speeches is eagerly anticipated.





Lybster Golf Club, Main Street, Lybster, Caithness, KW3 3BL